Areas of intervention

The Tripartite aims to deepend economic integration and create an environment that is more conducive to the attainment of higher levels of economic growth and trade performance.

The Vision of the Tripartite will be achieved through implementation of the Tripartite Strategy. The Strategy focuses on four main focal areas - derived, primarily, from the decisions of the first Tripartite Summit held in Kampala, Uganda and from the Memorandum of Understanding between COMESA, EAC and SADC.

The four focal areas are:

  1. The Tripartite Free Trade Agreement;
  2. Trade and Transport Facilitation;
  3. Infrastructure Development; and
  4. Trade Related Mechanisms.